top of page
BCE Distinguished Service Award



BURLINGAME, Calif., June 13, 2022 – Burlingame Community for Education Foundation (BCE) is pleased to

announce that it has awarded the 2022 BCE Distinguished Service Award to three couples -- Marni and Andy Fligel; Cathy and Joe Guglielmi; and Cyndi and Dave Wright. Their exemplary volunteer service, leadership, and commitment to BCE’s mission as they exit Burlingame School District as a family upon this year’s graduation is recognized with this award.

Selecting this year’s recipients, from a long list of BSD exiting families, was particularly difficult as the organization

has accumulated many incredibly deserving volunteers who have supported BCE over a sustained period of time.

Marni, Cathy, and Cyndi have served on the BCE Board of Directors, and they along with their spouses have

supported the organization through volunteer service and financial support over the years for the benefit of all

schools in the Burlingame School District. Additionally, Marni and Cyndi are serving as Trustees on the BCE Endowment Fund Council and have been instrumental in growing the Endowment Fund to over $1M.

BCE’s mission, providing Burlingame School District (BSD) with financial resources to create a rich and inspiring education for our children beyond what is possible with public funds, is accomplished within a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that is almost entirely staffed by volunteer workforce including a 17-member Board of Directors and

more than 100 Volunteer Corps and day-of-event volunteers.

“The success of our organization to raise money every year for our public schools has everything to do with the

number of dedicated and talented parents who volunteer their time on behalf of BCE. This year’s recipients are particularly committed to ensuring that our Burlingame public schools have the means to provide all our children

with an excellent education. It is with great pleasure that we recognize them in a nod to all our hard-working

volunteers, for their dedication to our mission," says current BCE President Craig Darling.

Award recipients will be honored at a special event on December 4, 2022 with more details available closer to the event.



Marni and Andy Fligel (2022)

Cathy and Joe Guglielmi (2022)

Cyndi and Dave Wright (2022)

Emily & Duff Beach (2021)

Florence Wong and Andrew Haskell (2020)

Malinda Pauly and Dan Sutherlin (2020)

Kendra and Rob Wehmeyer (2020)

Elizabeth and Cristos Goodrow (2019)

Sarah and Karl Wiley (2019)

Jenese and Paul Sieben (2019)

Marc and Betsy Rosen (2018)

Steve and Melissa Macko (2018)

Reid and Jennifer Liebhaber (2018)

Dave and Kelly Tillman (2017)

Paul Cousineau and Christine Thorsteinson (2016)

Mark and Kimberly Rosales (2015)

Robert and Deborah Hirth (2015)

Brian and Jenifer Beswick (2014)

Eric and Donna Colson (2014)

bottom of page